I know the rules…

Sim, eu estou se não lépida, nova e fagueira… mas bastante renovada nesta minha nova, digamos, encadernação.  Mas prestando um tributo à tradição eu vou dividir com vocês, um poema de uma poet(is)a inglesa que é simplesmente amazing! E eu a conheci através da leitura de …guess what?  Little Face um de seus romances policiais (ou, como  são denominados,  romances de  suspense psicológico) por assim dizer, que são chocantes, desafiadores, e maravilhosos. Quem diria?

Ela também escreve livros infantis, juro!) , sinceramente não sei avaliar o resultado a ponto de recomendar. Mas, na outra parte do conjunto da obra, acho-a   imbatível. Experimentem Sophie.

Experimentem esse poema The Cancellation, delicioso e  que adoro, e eis que um dia eu o vi publicado em dois blogs europeus. Um deles o blog do… Nick Hornby, quem diria, again:-) (*)

Fiquem com o que ele diz, pois eu imagino que sim e concordo inteiramente.

“Regrettably, these are the truest words ever spoken about the arts.”

The Cancellation

On the day of the cancellation
The librarian phoned at two.
My reading at Swillingcote Youth Club
Had regrettably fallen through.

The members of Swillingcote Youth Club
Had just done their GCSEs
And demanded a rave, not poems,
Before they began their degrees.

Since this happened at such short notice
They would still have to pay my fee.
I parked in the nearest lay-by
And let out a loud yippee.

The librarian put the phone down
And muttered, ‘Oh, thank the Lord!’
She was fed up of chaperoning
While the touring poet toured.

The girl from the local bookshop
Who’d been told to provide a stall
But who knew that the youth club members
Would buy no books at all

Expressed with a wild gyration
Her joy at a late reprieve,
And Andy, the youth club leader,
And the youth arts worker, Steve,

Both cheered as one does when granted
The gift of eternal life.
Each felt like God’s chosen person
As he skipped back home to his wife.

It occurred to me some time later
That such bliss, such immense content
Needn’t always be left to fortune,
Could in fact be a planned event.

What ballet or play or reading,
What movie creates a buzz
Or boosts the morale of the nation
As a cancellation does?

No play, is the simple answer.
No film that was ever shown.
I submit that the cancellation
Is an art form all of its own.

To give back to a frantic public
Some hours they were sure they’d lose
Might well be my new vocation.
I anticipate great reviews.

From now on, with verve and gusto,
I’ll agree to a month-long tour.
Call now if you’d like to book me
For three hundred pounds or more.

From Selected Poems by Sophie Hannah

Aqui, o blog do Nick Hornby. Ele é da Peguin.

E aqui all about Sophie. Uma excelente escritora, contista e  Poeta;  uma das inteligências mais ricas, mais privilegiadas com que tive contato nesses quase 5 anos.

♥♥♥

Aliki, este post é seu. Naturalmente. E especialmente esta belezura:

Rondeau Redoublé
I know the rules and hear myself agree
Not to invest beyond this one night stand.
I know your patter: in, out, like the sea.
The sharp north wind must blow away the sand.

Soon my supply will meet your last demand
And you will have no further use for me.
I will not swim against the tide, to land.
I know the rules. I hear myself agree.

I’ve kept a stash of hours, just two or three
To smuggle off your coast like contraband.
We will both manage (you more easily)
Not to invest beyond this one night stand.

To narrow-minded friends I will expand
On cheap not being the same as duty free.
I’ll say this was exactly what I planned.
I know your pattern: in, out, like the sea.

It’s not as if we were designed to be
Strolling along the beach front, hand in hand.
Things change, of natural necessity.
The sharp north wind must blow away the sand

And every storm to rage, however grand,
Will end in pain and shipwreck and debris
And each time there’s a voice I have to strand
On a bare rock, hardened against its plea;
I know the rules.

S. H.

*******

Nah! the *genuine*  old Meg!

Sobre sub rosa
The most of all things and persons in the entire world drives me *flabbergasted". That includes me.

5 Responses to I know the rules…

  1. aliki disse:

    Oh Meg Dear, ton intuition est si juste, pile un 19 août, jour anniversaire de ma fille… danadinha de sabida essa Sophia – muito obrigada, beijinhos muitos,aliki

  2. Magaly disse:

    Tudo, tudinho novidade pra mim. A poeta que escreve romances de suspense e faz literatura infantil! Já gostei da Sophie Hannah.
    O poema que você apresentou, The Cancellation, é bonito, tem um ritmo marcado, muito bom mesmo, mas aquele do fim, Rondeau Redoublé, cuja coda (posso dizer assim?) deu o nome a seu post, (só não fiquei com ciúme porque foi para Aliki!), aquele é arrasador. Chega ser um pecado de tão maravilhoso.
    Fui ao blog do Hornby, li posts bem interessantes.
    De tudo, concluo que tenho que arranjar tempo para me preparar ou daqui a pouco não estarei apta a acompanhar o status do Subros@.
    Está tudo muito bom, Meggy, gosto do que você traz de suas viagens pelos espaços não conquistados pela plebe cibernética, onde me incluo, e só posso bater palmas pra você.
    B-E-I-J-I-N-H-O-S

  3. Rose disse:

    E ela é tão jovem!

    Ai! Tenho inveja de poetisas jovens que escrevem bem. Este post mal me fez!

    Mando beijos mesmo assim

    quic!

  4. Nelsinho disse:

    Quem sabe, em algum momento, em algum outro lugar não tão remoto, eu terei o prazer de voltar à leitura com tempo e dedicação…
    Não conheço os textos e poesia de Sophie Hannah, mas registrei o nome.
    No momento, quando chego a casa bem tarde todas as noites, tudo em que posso pensar é num banho e algumas horas de sono. Parece uma guerra!

    Um beijo

